The Aesthetic Guide is part of the Informa Markets Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

2019 Lifetime Achievement Award: Dr. Carl Thornfeldt

Article-2019 Lifetime Achievement Award: Dr. Carl Thornfeldt

2019 Lifetime Achievement Award: Dr. Carl Thornfeldt

Dr. Carl Thornfeldt's life has been about making a difference; to our country through military service, to his patients, to his community, to his family, and to the advancement of skin health around the world. Early in his career, Dr. Thornfeldt embarked on an extensive journey focused on researching abnormalities of the skin barrier, cutaneous inflammation, drug delivery, disease conditions and herbal-based therapies that improve the health and well-being of patients around the world. He has authored over 50 scientific articles including chapters in 8 textbooks about cosmeceuticals, drug delivery, natural products and dermatology, and has over 22 U.S. patents – all while maintaining his busy clinical dermatology practice. Believe it or not, his passion for medicine began as a child on a rural sheep farm in Eastern Oregon. It was on this farm that he first experienced holistic medicine, by watching his father dedicate his life to improving the health and quality of life of the sheep through a whole-health approach. This also established his love for rural America. Upon learning about the lack of dermatologists around the southern Oregon / Idaho border, when he graduated he set up a practice in the area and dedicated his career to serving the residents of these communities. In addition to caring for his patients, his ongoing research and running the skincare brand Epionce, he is a beloved employer to his practice and company staff, as well as his research teams; an integral part of his community; and a dedicated family man. Dr. Carl Thornfeldt will join the ranks of prestigious past award winners, who include Dr. David Matlock, Dr. Mark Berman, Dr. Sydney Coleman and Dr. Zein Obagi.

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.